Walmart - Other Walmart; Returning Without Original Packaging?

T

Thrifty Bee

I bought a digital kitchen scale at Wal-Mart Saturday. After I took it out of the box I turned it on once to see if I had installed the battery correctly. After that I set it in the cabinet and didn’t mess with it again until today, and it wouldn’t turn on. It could be a bad battery or a bad scale so I think I should return the whole scale just in case. The problem is DH threw away the box when he took out the trash Saturday night without asking me if I still needed it.

I don’t feel it would be unethical to purchase a new identical scale and use the box it came in to return the original one because the original is only two days old and defective at no fault of mine. But I really don’t want to get the same scale. I would much rather return this one for my money back and purchase a different one. But that would require returning this one without the box it came in and I’ve never tried that before. I do have the receipt and there are others in stock to compare it to so they know it’s the right scale.

Can anyone give me the head up on this if you’ve done it before? Or maybe a manager or CS Desk employee can tell me what my chances are. I checked the return policy at walmartstores.com but it did not address returns without original packaging.

M

mom2lucas

I would just call the store and ask. I doubt this is the first time they've had a similar occurrence.

CW&M Mom

٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶Dugalina٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶ᶫᵒᵛᵉᵧₒᵤ ᙢᘎG!
Trader Group
I would change the battery before I considered taking it back without the packaging. Often the batteries that come with something are just not as good as the ones we purchase anyways.

A

abond0017