Help! What do I use this Cooking Stock for (Chicken)

J

jenrose

Ok, I just looked in the cupboard and discovered I have a container (1lb) of Chicken Cooking Stock. I have never made anything with this before and it is getting close to its best by date. What can I make with this. Either stove/oven or crockpot. I have bone-in chicken thighs in the freezer as well as bonless skinless chicken breasts.

Any ideas would be appreciated. I am not good at 'winging it' but I can cook if I am told the how to's and how much's LOL. :wink7:

TIA

T

TBEventer2002

I love using chicken stock in mashed potatoes!

You could use it in the crock pot with the chicken you have.

Also good in rice as well. :) HTH!

D

Domestic Gal

Chicken and Beef stock is all I buy. I use it in place of chicken and beef broth.
Much cheaper and takes up less space. Just add water and you have canned chicken broth use in any recipe that calls for chicken broth or stock.

M

mybebe

You can make tortilla soup here is the recipe:

• chicken stock
  • 1 lime, or about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons to squeeze into your bowl.
  • 2 diced tomatoes
  • chopped cilantro
  • green onions, with most of the green, chopped
  • corn kernels, frozen, fresh, or canned drained as much as you would like in your bowl.
  • cooked chunck chicken
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
  • white steamed rice for a scoop in each bowl
  • 1 avocado sliced for garnish on the top of the soup

• vegetable oil
  • corn tortillas cut in strips about 1/2-inch wide deep fry till done sprinkle salt on them or purchased corn tortilla chips for the top of the soup.
Preparation:

Simmer chicken in stock till done.I usually take out the chicken put to the side then strain the broth to take out all lil pieces and then add the chicken back in.add the corn.
when ready to serve put a scoop of rice into your bowl.