Does Anyone Boil Their Rice?

Discussion in 'Rice & Grains' started by Thrifty Bee, Apr 19, 2012.

1. Thrifty Bee

Thrifty Bee Guest

I love rice but it is so hard to cook and I’m a good cook. I bake breads and cakes of all kinds from scratch and I’ve been told my fried chicken rivals KFC, but I can’t get a simple pot of rice right. I don’t have a rice cooker but I do have a Rival multi-cooker that has detailed instructions for cooking rice which are the same as what you’ll find on any bag of rice; 1 cup rice, 2 cups water, ½ teaspoon salt, simmer 18 minutes, rest for 5. I followed the directions exactly and got crunchy rice so I simmered for 20 and rested for 10 and got the same results. The next time I simmered for 25 minutes but that didn’t make a difference either, and I didn’t lift the lid and let the steam out.

Now boil in the bag rice turns out perfect but I can buy a regular bag of rice that’s twice the size for ½ the price. So I started thinking about what is different about the boil in the bag rice, is the rice itself any different? Because if the only difference is the bag is an easy way to boil and strain then I should be able to do that without the bag, right? Shouldn’t I be able to boil it in a pot until tender and strain it in a colander with really small holes?

I know it’s silly of me to have a problem with such a simple dish but I do. Thanks to anyone who offers advice.

2. froggie3

froggie3 Guest

I never have to drain my rice.

I put 2 to 1 (water to rice, so 2 cups water, 1 cup rice). Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to low so it barely is simmering, put the lid on, and leave it until the water is mostly absorbed...fluff with a fork.

3. Slivnfree

Slivnfree Guest

Take a pot

Put the amount of rice you'd like

Rinse 3 times, Add water till you can put your finger barley touching level rice in pot and water level is at the bend line in your thumb.

Cover and bring to a boil, once at a boil crack lid and reduce heat to simmer.