PDA

View Full Version : Dearest and I quit smoking today, wish us luck!

chitownmelli
12-09-2007, 07:47:07 AM
Well, we have been wanting to do it for a long time, we just haven't been brave enough to do it! I have been smoking for 12 years, and dearest, not quite as long. I smoke more as a nervous habit than anything, so I know that driving anywhere will be a challenge for me as I am easily irritated by other drivers. Also, we want to start heading up our bumpy and scary road to getting pregnant. It's very high risk to begin with, and after what I went through last year, I do not want to give my body another reason to hurt my feelings. (we lost a baby via ectopic pregnancy, and my other tube is also damaged, which is what makes this high risk, and i know that smoking increases the chances of it happening again) I allowed smoking to be something that calmed me while I was getting over that, which I know is a terrible thing to do, and I am glad that a year has passed and I am feeling so much better about it now.

So, I had my last smoke this morning at 6AM when dearest woke up to go to work. I let him take the last 2 with him. Neither of us will be buying any more after those 2 are gone. We will not be using the patch or any drugs or anything, just cold turkey for us. I have already begun over the past couple of weeks trying to make my cravings go away by relaxing and by using deep breathing exercises to help me (I am pretty high strung the way it is!) and I just remember that I am strong and can do anything I want to do. I picture how disgusting this habit of mine is, and imagine how bad my health can be if I continue doing it. And then I picture myself not smoking, and being healthy and happy, and playing with kids and all that great stuff! That works like a charm. After I put all of that energy into all that, I don't feel so much like smoking any more.