PDA

View Full Version : I want to train for and do a marathon

kimandkathess
11-08-2010, 06:25:06 PM
I was wondering if anyone here has been part of a
1/2 marathon (13.1 miles)
Full marathon (26.2 miles)

I want to do one or more. I have not figured out which one yet. I just know that I am interested and am gathering information and personal stories at the time. I want to know what others have gone through to train one and what they have gone through when actually running one.

Thanks for any information. All will be helpful.

~~Katrina~~

Doglover8180
11-08-2010, 07:17:13 PM
I have no knowledge about marathons - I would drop a lung if I ran around the block so I can offer nothing that will be of any useful support - but I just wanted to say that I think your personal challenge is a great one - and let me know how it turns out - I hope it goes great... good luck! :)

cintinative
11-08-2010, 07:39:10 PM
I have not, but my friend who runs is training for a marathon. I wish I knew what guide she was using. They have some on the runnersworld.com website. Here's some info on 5K/10Ks 5K and 10K Training for Runners: Runner's World (http://www.runnersworld.com/subtopic/0,7123,s6-238-244-259-0,00.html) I noticed they also have a training calculator--not sure how it works.

Training time will depend in part if you are starting from the couch or if you are already a seasoned runner. I have a friend that did the couch to 5K plan but never actually ran the 5K. LOL. One resource you can check is at your local running shoe store. A lot of times they have a running schedule to prepare for the local marathon (if you have one). You'll need good shoes anyway, so it's a worthwhile trip. I'm sorry I can't be more helpful!!

cintinative
11-08-2010, 07:41:23 PM