PDA

View Full Version : Quitting Smoking

iheartmykiddos
02-07-2009, 11:45:31 AM
Ok. I'm going to quit smoking. It's gross, stinky and expensive. It's my only vice. I don't do drugs, I'm not a big drinker, so this is all I have. I'm 24 and I've been smoking a pack a day (at least) for 10 years. I'm starting to get "smoker's cough" and am coughing up nastiness among other things. I'm done.

DH and I are going on vacation in June to Mexico and we DO NOT want to be smokers when we go. We want to keep all the money we spend on cigs and save it for spending money while we're there. That's $130.00 a month. Geez, that's alot LOL. Just 2 months worth is enough cash to swim with dolphins. Smoking or a once in a lifetime chance to swim with dolphins? Hmmmm that's a tough one. NOT!!!

Soooo, I'm going to finish this pack (about 15) and that's it. I know myself and if I try to wean myself, it just won't work. The patches and gum make me sick, so cold turkey is the way to go. I'm going to check in everyday and post how many - if any - I smoke. I'm not going to delude myself into thinking I won't relapse. But I'm going to try, try again and do my best. I CAN DO IT!!!

babyc11
02-07-2009, 12:40:14 PM
I'm also in the process of quitting. I started out using Chantix, but had to stop due to side effects. I was down to not smoking, then started smoking 1 ciggie a day. The past few its up to 5 a day, so I just have to cut myself from them as well. Good luck!

Stephanie

Coriander
02-08-2009, 03:48:18 AM
YOU GO GIRLS!!! You can do it. It takes a little time to get over the first few rough spots but through each success, give yourself a pat on the back. Baby steps!

I quit cold turkey 6 years ago on January 1st, 2009. I know it's not easy but your worth it.

katey66
02-08-2009, 06:07:55 AM