PDA

View Full Version : Going on 48 hours smoke free & going CRAZY!

ajproo
04-21-2008, 05:08:16 PM
My DH and I have been smoking for 15 years. The only time I have ever quit was when I got pregnant w/ our daughter. It seemed much easier then because all I wanted was a healthy baby. Then i foolishly picked up the habit again when she was one. My DH has not stopped once during the 15 years. We both decided it was time to quit and made a quit date ( April 19, 2008). We started Wellbutrin a week before. We had our last smoke Saturday night at 11pm. Then we threw away all ashtrays and smokes. Sunday was VERY hard for me, I just wanted to sleep all day. When I wasn't sleeping all i could do was think about smoking. My DH did pretty good the first day.
Today is our second day, not as bad as yesterday for me. But my DH had a bad craving this afternoon. He was on the verge of smoking. So I went to CVS and bought Nicorette gum and it totally helped him. But I know we have a long & challenging road ahead. So if any one has any advice or encouraging words, please send them our way.:rolleyes24:

Teens&Tots
04-21-2008, 06:20:54 PM
I've never smoked but I applaud your efforts - keep your eye on the prize, a healthier you and dh and a healthier environment for your baby - oh, and try not to pick up a replacement habit:| I've been junk food eating my way through life....

I'll add you to my prayers - they say after 21 days you've created a habit, let's hope the reverse it true and you only have 19 more to go!!!!!

One last thing - pick a date in the future and set that as your goal, then treat yourselves when you hit that and haven't smoked - think of something GREAT that you would look forward too - you can afford it now that you aren't spending money on ciggys!!!!!!!

MamaVader
04-21-2008, 06:31:50 PM